Skip to main content


Members of the Centre are based at the School of Politics and International Studies at the University of Leeds, but we also have Associate Members drawn from other Schools, Universities and Organisations. The Centre’s Co-Directors are Dr Richard Hayton and Dr Eike Rinke.

George Aylett

PhD Researcher

Dr Alexander Beresford

Associate Professor in African Politics

Oliver Booth

PhD Researcher & PGR Ambassador for the Centre for Democratic Politics

Emma Brewis

PhD Researcher

Dr Charlie Dannreuther

Lecturer in European Political Economy

Dr Jonathan Dean

Associate Professor of Politics

Dr Kris Dunn

Associate Professor in Quantitative Political Psychology

Dr Derek Edyvane

Associate Professor of Political Theory

Professor Jocelyn Evans

Chair in Politics

Paul Geyer

PhD Researcher

Dr Anna Grimaldi


Dr Richard Hayton

Co-director of the Centre for Democratic Politics & Associate Professor of Politics

Dr Timothy Heppell

Associate Professor of British Politics

Professor Jack Holland

Professor of Global Security Challenges

Dr Victoria Honeyman

Associate Professor of British Politics

Dr Cristina Juverdeanu

Lecturer in Politics and International Studies

Sara Kaizuka

PhD Researcher

Yeonsu Lee

PhD Researcher

Professor Cristina Leston-Bandeira

Professor of Politics

Dr Papiya Mazumdar

Lecturer in Global Health

Dr Stuart McAnulla

Associate Professor in Politics

Dr Sean McDaniel

Lecturer in British Politics

Dr Alexandra Meakin

Lecturer in British Politics

Alex Norman

PhD Researcher

Temitayo Odeyemi

PhD Researcher

Natalie Rhodes

PhD Researcher

Dr Eike Mark Rinke

Co-director of the Centre for Democratic Politics & Lecturer in Politics and Media

Susan Ann Samuel

PhD Researcher

Shivani Singhal

PhD Researcher

Dante Solano Silva

PhD Researcher

Dr Viktoria Spaiser

Associate Professor in Sustainability Research and Computational Social Science

Professor Kevin Theakston

Professor of British Government

Daniel Valdenegro Ibarra

PhD Researcher

Dr Mette Wiggen


Jeffrey Zhao

PhD Researcher